Call For Papers



Abstract Submission Deadline (American Samoa Time Zone): June 05, 2013
Full Paper Submission Deadline (American Samoa Time Zone): June 05, 2013
Full Paper Acceptance Notification: July 10, 2013 (New Deadline!)
Full Paper Camera-ready Version: July 17, 2013 (New Deadline!)
Short Paper Submission Deadline: July 20, 2013
Short Paper Acceptance Notification: August 20, 2013
Short Paper Camera-ready Version: August 31, 2013>

SBMF 2013 is the sixteenth of a series of events devoted to the development, dissemination and use of formal methods for the construction of high-quality computational systems. It is now a well-established event with an international reputation.

Keynote speakers will be:

  • Kenneth McMillan, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Christiano Braga, UFF, Brazil

The symposium will be part of a larger event, CBSoft, the Brazilian Conference on Software: Theory and Practice ( including, in addition to SBMF, three other symposia:

  • XXVII Brazilian Symposium on Software Engineering (SBES)
  • XVII Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages (SBLP)
  • VII Brazilian Symposium on Components, Software Architecture and Software Reuse (SBCARS)

CBSoft and SBMF 2013 will take place in Brasília, a UNESCO world heritage for its world-wide symbol of modern architecture. As a venue for political events, music performances and movie festivals, Brasília is a cosmopolitan city, with around 119 embassies, a wide range of restaurants and complete infrastructure ready to host any kind of event. Brasília is strategically located in the center of Brazil and its international airport, the third busiest Brazilian airport, serves the metropolitan area with major domestic and international flights. Brasília is also considered one of the main sites of Brazilian ecoturism for its cerrado (Brazilian tropical savanna) hosting one of the major National parks very close to its administrative center. In the surroundings of Brasília, great waterfalls and a breathtaking landscapes are at easy access, including Chapada dos Veadeiros (Veadeiros Plateau) and Pirenópolis, with more than twenty spectacular waterfalls with pristine water.

The aim of SBMF is to provide a venue for the presentation and discussion of high-quality papers, from researchers with a broad range of interests in formal methods, on recent developments in this field. The topics include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Well-founded specification and design languages;
  • Formal aspects of popular languages and methodologies;
  • Logics and semantics of programming- and specification languages;
  • Reusable domain theories;
  • Type systems and category theory in computer science;
  • Computational complexity of methods and models;
  • Computational models;
  • Rewriting systems;
  • Formal methods integration;
  • Formal methods for software/hardware development;
  • Formal methods applied to model-driven engineering;
  • Code generation;
  • Formal design methods;
  • Specification and modeling;
  • Abstraction, modularization and refinement techniques;
  • Program and test synthesis;
  • Techniques for correctness by construction;
  • Formal methods and models for objects, aspects and component systems;
  • Formal methods and models for real-time, hybrid and critical systems;
  • Formal methods and models for service-oriented systems;
  • Models of concurrency, security and mobility;
  • Model checking;
  • Theorem proving;
  • Static analysis;
  • Formal techniques for software testing;
  • Software certification;
  • Formal techniques for software inspection.
  • Teaching of, for and with formal methods;
  • Experience reports on the use of formal methods;
  • Industrial case studies;
  • Tools supporting the formal development of computational systems;
  • Development methodologies with formal foundations;
  • Software evolution based on formal methods.


Papers with a strong emphasis on Formal Methods, whether practical or theoretical, are invited for submission. They should present unpublished and original work that has a clear contribution to the state of the art on the theory and practice of formal methods. They should not be simultaneously submitted elsewhere.

Papers will be judged on the basis of originality, relevance, technical soundness and presentation quality. They should be written in English.

There are two types of submissions:

  • Full papers: (max. 16 pages in LNCS format) should contain theory- or application-oriented results which must be original, significant, and sound; they will undergo a full reviewing process. Papers from industry should emphasize practical application of formal methods and/or report open
  • Short papers: (max. 6 pages in LNCS format) should describe recent research activities, practical experience, and preliminary results that are worth discussing.

Every accepted paper MUST have at least one author registered to the symposium by the time the camera-ready copy is submitted; the author is also expected to attend the symposium and present the paper. Papers are submitted in English and MUST be presented in English.

The proceedings will be published in LNCS

Papers can be submitted via the following link:


  • Leonardo de Moura, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Juliano Iyoda, UFPE, Brazil


  • Jim Davies, University of Oxford, UK
  • Rohit Gheyi, UFCG, Brazil
  • Juliano Iyoda, UFPE, Brazil (Co-chair)
  • Carroll Morgan, UNSW, Australia
  • Leonardo de Moura, Microsoft Research, USA (Co-chair)
  • David Naumann, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
  • Marcel Oliveira, UFRN, Brazil
  • Leila Silva UFS, Brazil
  • Adenilso Simao, ICMC-USP, Brazil
  • Jim Woodcock, University of York, UK


  • Christiano Braga
  • Narciso Martí-Olie
  • Marcelo d’Amorim
  • Wilkerson Andrade
  • Aline Andrade
  • David Aspinall
  • Luis Barbosa
  • Michael Butler
  • Ana Cavalcanti
  • Marcio Cornélio
  • Andrea Corradini
  • Jim Davies
  • David Deharbe
  • Ewen Denney
  • Clare Dixon
  • Jorge Figueiredo
  • Rohit Gheyi
  • John Harrison
  • Rolf Hennicker
  • Zhiming Liu
  • Gerald Luettgen
  • Patricia Machado
  • Tiago Massoni
  • Ana Melo
  • Stephan Merz
  • Anamaria Moreira
  • Alvaro Moreira
  • Alexandre Mota
  • Arnaldo Moura
  • David Naumann
  • Daltro Nunes
  • José Oliveira
  • Marcel Oliveira
  • Alexandre Petrenko
  • Leila Ribeiro
  • Augusto Sampaio
  • Leila Silva
  • Adenilso Simão
  • Heike Wehrheim
  • Jim Woodcock